BORYS EVGENOVYCH PATON — IEEE HONONARY MEMBER!



பி

Honorary membership of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is given to a person for life. It is awarded by IEEE Board of Directors to people, who, not being IEEE members, have made an outstanding contribution into



Ļр

Advancing Technology for Humanity

progress of humanity in IEEE fields of interest.

IEEE Ukraine Section is proud to announce that Professor Borys Paton, President of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Director of the E.O. Paton Electric Welding Institute of the NAS of Ukraine, was selected to receive the 2020 IEEE Honorary Membership Award. This is a recognition of his achievement within IEEE engineering fields, which had an impact on development of electrometallurgy, materials science, electric welding of metals and biological tissues.

At the end of this year, IEEE Board of Directors meeting approved a decision on granting Prof. Borys Paton, President of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Director of the Electric Welding Institute of the NAS of Ukraine, a special award — IEEE Honorary Membership with the following definition «For achievements in IEEE engineering fields that have an impact on development of electrometallurgy, materials science, electric welding of metals and biological tissues».

The title of Honorary Member is awarded by IEEE for outstanding contribution into development of engineering sciences, designated by IEEE. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers has more than 400 thou members from 160 countries of the world. However, there are not more than 50 Honorary Members. The recipients of this title are presented with the Certificate, «Honorary Member» pin and crystal sculpture.

In the previous years, the IEEE Honorary Membership recipients were Telle Whitney (2019), Anton Zeilinger (2018), Rodolfo Stefano Zich (2016), Elon Musk (2015), Shirley Marie Tilghman (2014) and others.

Dear Professor Paton,

It is a great pleasure to inform you that the IEEE Board of Directors selected you to receive the 2020 IEEE Honorary Membership Award, which is given elected by the Board of Directors from among those individuals, not members of IEEE, who have rendered meritorious service to humanity in IEEE's designated fields of interest.

The award comes with the following citation:

"For lifetime achievements within IEEE technical fields of interest in the development of processes of electrometallurgy, materials science, electric welding of metals, and biological tissues."

For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to researchers, inventors, innovators, and practitioners whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession. Each year the IEEE Awards Board recommends a small number of outstanding individuals for IEEE's most prestigious honors. You now join this select group.

Details regarding the award presentation will be sent separately via electronic mail by the IEEE Awards Staff.

Congratulations on your achievement, and thank you for your commitment to IEEE and its mission of advancing technology to benefit humanity

Very truly yours,

Jose manuel Forsece de Moura

Jose' Moura IEEE President